Business Guide to Sales Tax in Oklahoma
$100,000 in annual sales
WEBSITE:Oklahoma Department of Revenue
So, you need to know about sales tax in The Sooner State. Look no further!
Whether you’ve fully set up shop in Oklahoma, or simply ship there once in a while, it’s important you know whether your business is liable to their sales taxes. This guide will tell you everything you need to know, plus direct you to the right places for handling any sales tax responsibility you may have.
What’s taxable in Oklahoma?
Tangible products, as you might guess, are physical items. Oklahoma taxes most tangible products, but there can be exemptions! To be absolutely clear about which products are subject to sales tax, and which are exempt, check Oklahoma Department of Revenue.
Do you have nexus in Oklahoma?
The word “nexus” refers to a commercial connection in the state. Nexus determines the following questions for a state tax agency: Do you do business here, what kind, and how much? And when you do have nexus, that means you’re obligated to collect tax on your sales there.
So the first question for you to answer is whether you have nexus in Oklahoma.
You probably have nexus in Oklahoma if any of the following points describe your business:
- A physical presence in Oklahoma: a store, an office, a warehouse or distribution center, storage space, you, an employee, a representative, etc.
- Any affiliate businesses or individuals in the Oklahoma, which generate sales.
- A significant amount of sales in Oklahoma within twelve months. *
* This is called an economic nexus, a sales tax nexus determined by economic activity, i.e. - the amount of sales you make in a particular state. Any kind of economic activity could trigger the nexus, once your total sales reach a certain threshold amount.
The threshold in Oklahoma is $100,000 in annual sales. To learn more about how this works, check out the Ultimate Guide to US Economic Nexus.
Notice and Report laws
Oklahoma has what’s called “Notice & Report” tax laws for out-of-state sellers. Remote businesses above a given threshold must first notify certain customers that they need to pay taxes to the Oklahoma revenue office. Then the businesses must also report the list of customers (and the amount of tax they owe) directly to the Oklahoma revenue office.
The Notice & Report threshold in Oklahoma is $100,000 in annual sales. If you pass this threshold, you do not need to register for sales tax in Oklahoma, but you do have to comply with the “notice and report” burdens above. Your other option is to go ahead and register for a sales tax permit and follow the normal rules, which may be easier in the long run.
How to register for sales tax in Oklahoma
Okay, so you have nexus! Now what?
The next crucial step in complying with Oklahoma sales tax is to register for a sales tax permit. It’s actually illegal to collect tax without a permit. So to get all your ducks in a row, start with tax registration first.
You can find directions about how to register in Oklahoma on their Department of Revenue website.
When registering for sales tax, you should have at least the following information at hand:
- Your personal contact info
- Your business contact info
- Social security number (SSN) or Employer Identification Number (EIN)
- Business entity (sole-proprietor, LLC, S-Corp, etc.)
- Bank account info (account number and routing number) where you’ll deposit the collected sales tax
How to collect sales tax in Oklahoma
Now it’s time to tackle the intricate stuff! Tax rates can vary based on the location of your business and the location of your customer, plus the levels of sales tax that apply in those specific locations.
The state-wide sales tax in Oklahoma is 4.5%.
There are additional levels of sales tax at local jurisdictions, too.
Oklahoma has a destination-based sales tax system, * so you have to pay attention to the varying tax rates across the state. Charge the tax rate of the buyer’s address, as that’s the destination of your product or service.
Check out Quaderno's Sales Tax Calculator see your product's tax rate, amount, and final price in Oklahoma.
* Important to note for remote sellers: While this is generally true for Oklahoma, some state have peculiar rules about tax rates for remote sellers. Contact the state’s Department of Revenue to be sure.
Sales tax on shipping charges in Oklahoma
Oklahoma doesn’t apply sales tax to any shipping costs, as long as the shipping costs are clearly listed and separated from the price of the item(s) you’re selling. Be sure to always mark the cost of the product and the cost of the shipping on two different lines of the bill.
When to file taxes in Oklahoma
When you register for sales tax, Oklahoma will assign you a certain filing frequency. You’ll be asked to file and pay sales tax either monthly, quarterly, or annually.
Usually the frequency they choose is based on the amount of sales tax you collect from buyers in Oklahoma. High-revenue businesses file more frequently than lower volume businesses, for example.
Oklahoma sales tax returns are due on the 20th day of the month following the reporting period. If the due date falls on a weekend or holiday, then your sales tax filing is generally due the next business day.
How to file taxes in Oklahoma
When tax time rolls around in Oklahoma, whether it’s monthly or annually, you must do three things:
- Calculate how much sales tax you owe
- File a sales tax return
- Make a payment
Oklahoma requires that any seller with a sales tax permit file a sales tax return on your due date, even if you don’t have any sales tax to report or pay. Even if you didn’t make a single sale in Oklahoma during the reporting period, you should must do a “zero tax filing.”
Other Oklahoma tax info
If you miss a filing or payment deadline, certain penalties can apply. Such a pain! Check the state’s website for up-to-date penalty fees.
On a brighter note, you could be eligible for sales tax discounts in Oklahoma! Usually these discounts are designed to save you a bit of money, as a reward for complying with the sales tax system. Check the state’s website for up-to-date discount policies.
Sales Tax Holidays
One final tricky aspect about Oklahoma sales tax are the sales tax holidays. During these days of the year, you aren’t required to charge sales tax, and buyers will expect to not be charged. Check the state’s website for current sales tax holidays.
- The Quick Guide to U.S. Sales Tax Nexus
- The Ultimate Guide to US Economic Nexus
- How the Wayfair decision on US sales tax will affect your business — and how it won’t?
- What You Must Know About Sales Tax if You Have Customers in the United States
- US Sales Tax for eCommerce: How to comply
- Sales Tax for Digital Products in the U.S.
- Sales Taxes for SaaS Products in the U.S.
Automate tax compliance worldwide
Let Quaderno automate the sales tax process from end to end so you can stop wasting time on taxes and take back control of your business.